all i wanted was a happy ending

I don’t know why it is, but the stories that fall into my head are the stories that no-one else wants.

They are the stories of the broken, the oppressed, the silenced, the victimized.

They are the stories of hurt, betrayal, sadness, of inhuman depravity, of human fragility.

Perhaps it is because I love people. Perhaps it is because my generally c’est-la-vie demeanour hides more than people think. Perhaps it is because I decided one day that my writing must be used to give a voice to those who are denied one, and God heard this and was pleased.

Either way, it drains me.

~ by translating for peas on October 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
