sometimes you can’t make it on your own: me, myself and U2.

those weeks descend upon you like old age
– all of a sudden you realize you’re in a moment of surrender, and you can’t escape:
a row after row after row of dates blocked out in your diary in a grey of sameness,

Suffocating.

Sometimes, it’ll be that I’ve been working too hard, and there’ssomuchIneedtodothatnoIcan’tcomeouttonightand
noIcan’tcometocoffeewithyoubecauseI’vegotamilliondeadlines
fromahundreddifferentthingsandsomehowit’sallduefortomorrow!

Other times, it’ll be that I’ve been playing too hard and sure,I’llcomeoutandpartytonight,ImightjustbeabitlatebecauseI’vegotthisotherthingonfirst,
andI’llprobablyleaveabitearlybecausethere’sthisgigI’vebeeninvitedto,
butlet’smeetuptonightanyway’causetomorrowI’vegottogotoafriend’sfarewell,
andthenextdayI’matsomeone’swedding.

At times like these, U2 appear like modern-day prophets singing truth: ‘Cause “you know I’ll go crazy if I don’t go crazy tonight”.

Sometimes this means a good, foot-stomping, bone-shaking, head-banging electrical storm of dancing barefoot in a club somewhere. Other times, it means a solid evening in your blue room with me, myself and I. Sometimes the thing you think you need least right now, is the thing you need most.

So here comes life lesson #48203: Don’t get stuck in a moment you can’t get out of; it’s time for a beautiful day.

~ by translating for peas on November 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
