the video store

I pop in at the video store quite frequently. It’s only five minutes away, and whenever I get into the car, I think that I’m to go get something to watch. But I rarely get back into the car again with a movie in my hand.

I tried to figure out why today, as I found myself once again walking aimlessly up and down the aisles. It’s not that the movies I want are all out, I realized, it’s that I actually come to see which movies are out. he’s just not that into you had no available copies, making me wonder whether a group of girlfriends were laughing at it at that very moment. the Boy in Striped Pajamas had also been taken, perhaps by a dad looking for a thoughtful movie for Family Evening? And who had stopped by Requiem for a Dream, and then decided not to take it out?

And as more of these stories filled my head, I came to see: it’s not a movie I want to watch – but glimpses of other people’s lives.

~ by translating for peas on December 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
