after the love has gone

For me, just like it is for the solitary eagle that sweeps the evening sky, inspiring envy on the parts of the gravity-owned animals below, freedom is just an illusion – the eagle always returns to the landbound nest, and I, I always return to him. He’s split the time-line of my life into two. All I seem to be able to come up with stories are pre-him, post-him. If stories are supposed to make you, constitute your being, then my skeleton has been left brittle, my frame hanging on hollowed bones – for he has gone, and with him, taken captive my heart and my imagination.

Somethin’ happened along the way
what used to be happy was sad
Somethin’ happened along the way
and yesterday was all we had

And oh after the love has gone
how could you lead me on
and not let me stay around
Oh oh oh after the love has gone
what used to be right is wrong

– Earth, Wind and Fire after the love has gone

~ by translating for peas on June 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
