waiting takes two

So baby, I will wait for you
‘Cause I don’t know what else I can do
Don’t tell me I ran out of time,
If it takes the rest of my life
Baby, I will wait for you
If you think I’m fine, it just ain’t true
I really need you in my life
No matter what I have to do, I’ll wait for you

– Elliott Yamin’s Wait for you

I’ve always thought that waiting takes two – the person waiting, and the person being waited upon. It was obvious which one I was – you were far and gone, and left only Elliott Yamin to keep me company. Never mind that I couldn’t be with you there – I promised myself, that you’d come back and I’d be here, waiting. I was yet to learn that you can’t make promises for others. I was yet to learn that waiting sometimes doesn’t take two – there only needs to be one person, sitting by their desk, listening to a song looping over and over again.

And eventually, a time comes when that person gets up from where they’re seated, stretches, yawns, and switches off the CD player.

Perhaps, Elliott didn’t quite capture the essence, the desperation of waiting then. It’s Maria Taylor I should’ve been listening to.

I will wait for you
Growing love but like water
Time will always slip through
I will wait for you
But please come soon

– Maria Taylor’s Leap year

~ by translating for peas on June 11, 2010.

One Response to “waiting takes two”

  1. Ya can never go wrong with Elliott Yamin! ;-D

Leave a Reply

 
