you are no longer mine to lose

I was scared of writing, in case I wrote too long and too much about you. My fear was that I’d accidentally bury you under layers and layers of white sheets of paper, or that as I wrote your name, my hand would tremour and destroy you. Another fear, even deeper, was that I’d realize that you were all I had to write about – that my story was only, always, our story.

Now I realize, I simply must: You are no longer mine to lose.

~ by translating for peas on June 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
